

Indiana Water Resources Association

http://iwra.info

The Indiana Section of the American Water Resources Association

February 15, 2010

Dear Members and Friends of IWRA,

Our 30th Water Resources Spring Symposium featured a powerful combination of history, current events and identification of future needs as illustrated through the Indiana flood events of 2008. A field trip on Friday morning to Ogle and Strahl lake dams in Brown County State park provided an additional connection to water management features, structural repairs and potential downstream hazards identified during the previous two days. Thanks to Dennis Stewart, our 2009 President and his symposium committee for organizing an informative and well attended meeting.

Honors and Awards: The IWRA initiated Outstanding Achievement Awards during 2009. Our congratulations go out to Lenore Tedesco, Siavash Beik and David Knipe, recipients of the inaugural IWRA Outstanding Achievement Awards for their engagement in the academic, private and public water resource communities, respectively. The Indiana Water Resources Association also recognized Dennis Clark, recipient of the 2009 Charles Harold Bechert Lifetime Achievement Award which was established in 1981 to honor outstanding members of the water-resources community in Indiana. Thank you for your dedication to the water resources of Indiana and beyond!

2010 Officers:

President: Leighanne Hahn, Office of Indiana State Chemist, hahnl@purdue.edu

President-elect: Mark Pyron, Ball State University, mpyron@bsu.edu

Secretary: Joseph Schmees, IN Department Environmental Management,

JSchmees@idem.IN.gov

Treasurer: Kathleen Fowler, United States Geological Survey, kkfowler@usgs.gov

Spring Symposium Announcement: We are pleased to partner with the newly-organized *Purdue University Water Community* as a co-sponsor of the 31st Annual IWRA Spring Symposium and also welcome the Wabash River Research Consortium and the Indiana Water Monitoring Council who plan to coordinate with our 2010 activities. **Mark your calendars for May 26-28, 2010**, and plan to join us at the newly remodeled Stewart Center conference facility at Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana. The theme of the symposium is "Indiana Waters: **Emerging Waters, Emerging Contaminants, Emerging Communities.**" The intent of this symposium is to showcase the strengths of our disciplines while emphasizing how our practices are connected in the outcomes of our work.

You are invited to submit an abstract for a presentation at the symposium. The abstract submission deadline is April 1, 2010 and must be submitted online: http://tinyurl.com/IWRA2010. We are looking forward hearing from you. For those of you who are interested, the Indiana Water Monitoring Council, http://www.inwmc.org will have a meeting in the morning on May 26th in the same conference meeting areas of Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana.

As part of our spring meeting, IWRA is accepting nominations for the **Charles Harold Bechert Award** and the **Outstanding Achievement Awards**. We hope to present these awards annually to individuals that have contributed significantly to the goals of IWRA including

- the promotion of research and technical, social, economic, and legislative advances in all aspects of water resources;
- the collection and dissemination of water-resources information through publications, symposia, and other media;
- relating the needs of management, educational, and governmental institutions for specialized services and guidance to gualified professionals; or
- initiating and maintaining lines of communication in the water-resources community.

Please take this opportunity to recognize outstanding contributions and achievements in the public, private and academic water-resources community and send your nominations for IWRA awards to Mark Basch, IWRA Awards Committee, mbasch@dnr.IN.gov, (317) 232-0154. The nomination deadline is April 16, 2010.

IWRA Student Scholarship Contributions: The IWRA Student Scholarship Fund continues to be supported by many IWRA members. This fund provides financial assistance for students who present at our meetings. Many thanks to the following individuals who contributed to the scholarship fund in 2009: Les Arihood, Jody Arthur, Don Arvin, Konrad Banaszak, Mark Basch, Siavash Beik, John Bell, Melody Bernot, Thomas Berquist, Thomas Bruns, Christopher Burke, Jerry Davis, Suzanne Delay, Jacques Delleur, Howard Dillon, Herbert Eagon Jr., Rick Fielder, John Fisher, Kathleen Fowler, Jane Frankenberger, Val Frazee, Art Garceau, Bill Giles, Bob Gillespie, Raj Gosine, Leighanne Hahn, Henk Haitjema, Rosemarie Hansell, Nancy Hasenmueller, Mark Howell, Paul Johnson, Joe Ketterman, Bruce Kirschner, Eileen Kladivko, Brett Lackey, Sally Letsinger, Susan Licher, James Luckiewicz, Kathy Luther, Kenneth Luther, Jeff Martin, Scott Morlock, Greg Nethery, Lenny Noens, Doug Opell, Greg Overtoom, Mark Pyron, Chris Ritz, Paul Ruegamer, Joseph Schmees, Michael Sears, Cheryl Silcox, Jeff Spicer, Jon Stolz, Harold Templin, Ben Torrison, Ron Turco, Jerry Unterreiner, David Wagner, Phil Ward, John Wilson, Pam Wolsiefer-Leak, Daniel Wright, and Lorraine Wright.

New Members: IWRA is fortunate to have a dedicated and growing membership. We welcome fourteen new members: Bob Barr, J. Michael Bowman, Natalie Dorsch, Andrea Gromeaux-Schnaith, Lisa Holscher, Mark Howell, Dan Perkins, Jennifer Pritchett, Mark Pyron, Miranda Ritchie, Amy Romig, Bob Schmidt, Paul Troy, and Jim Wertz.

In closing, I ask that you please take a moment to renew your membership in IWRA by completing the enclosed membership form for 2010. I also encourage you to continue to give generously to the IWRA Student Scholarship Fund. Thank you for supporting IWRA.

If you have questions concerning the spring meeting, or IWRA in general, please give me a call at 765 427-3472 or email me at hahnl@purdue.edu. I look forward to seeing you at the 2010 Spring symposium!

Sincerely,

Leighanne Hahn IWRA President 2010