

Indiana Water Resources Association

http://iwra.info/

The Indiana State Section of the American Water Resources Association

February 16, 2011

Dear Members and Friends of IWRA,

Our 31st Annual IWRA Spring Symposium at Purdue University was a successful collaboration with the **Purdue University Water Community**. The symposium theme was "**Indiana Waters: Emerging Waters, Emerging Contaminants, Emerging Communities**" and included more than 30 speakers, a Thursday evening poster session, and 23 student presentations. **James Gammon**, professor emeritus of DePauw University, was presented IWRA's Charles Harold Bechert Award in recognition of his lifetime of studying and protecting the Wabash River Ecosystem. IWRA Outstanding Achievement Awards also were presented at the Wednesday evening banquet. **Rodney Renkenberger** received an award for his work on flood mitigation for the Maumee River Basin Commission. **Bill Jones**, Indiana University, School of Public and Environmental Affairs, received an award for his efforts in the Indiana Clean Lakes Program. **The Nature Conservancy** was recognized for the design and implementation of a 2-stage drainage ditch for farmlands. Thanks go to Leighanne Hahn, our 2010 president, who planned this well-attended conference.

The IWRA Student Scholarship Fund financially supported 23 students at the 2010 Symposium. We thank the following individuals who contributed to the scholarship fund in 2010: Les Arihood, Kristen Arnold, Jody Arthur, Mark Basch, Siavash Beik, Melody Bernot, Thomas Berquist, Sarah Brichford, Thomas Bruns, John Buechler, Damon Carl, Suzanne Delay, Carolyn Dowling, Kathleen Fowler, Val Frazee, Jeff Frey, Bill Giles, Bob Gillespie, Raj Gosine, Bill Guertal, Henk Haitjema, Rosemarie Hansell, Eileen Kladivko, David Knipe, Brett Lackey, Jhani Laupus, Sally Letsinger, Michael Litwin, James Luckiewicz, Jeff Martin, Scott Morlock, Ron Muncie, Shawn Naylor, Greg Nethery, John Noel, Greg Overtoom, Hunter Pinnell, Richard Powell, Glenn Pratt, Linda Prokopy, Martin Risch, Chris Ritz, Paul Ruegamer, Joe Schmees, Sibel Selcuk, Jeff Spicer, Jon Stolz, Harold Templin, Jerry Unterreiner, David Wagner, John Wilson, and Pam Wolsiefer.

Officers were elected at a brief meeting in December. 2011 IWRA Officers are:

President: Mark Pyron, Ball State University, mpyron@bsu.edu

President-Elect: Mark Hopkins, U.S. Geological Survey, mhopkins@usgs.gov Secretary: Joseph Schmees, IN Department of Environmental Management,

JSchmees@idem.IN.gov

Treasurer: Kathleen Fowler, United States Geological Survey, kkfowler@usgs.gov

Many thanks to Kathleen and Joe for their ongoing service to IWRA.

IWRA was selected as the American Water Resources Association's Outstanding State Section for 2010. We were recognized for our outstanding and innovative technical programs. In view of that

honor, I'm pleased to announce that the 32nd Annual IWRA Spring Symposium will be held June 1-3 at the Ball State University Alumni Center in Muncie. The theme of this year's symposium is "The Wabash River Watershed: Assessment, Management, and the Future." The symposium will focus on the Wabash River Watershed with the goal of addressing all aspects of the water resource including hydrology, ecology, water quality, hydrogeology, water supply, restoration and remediation, and water management and policy. The Thursday afternoon session will be cosponsored by the Professional Geologists of Indiana (PGI) and will be devoted to geological issues in the basin including the hydrologic effects of energy exploration and development, the Ball State University geothermal project, and the Indianapolis CSO tunnel project. You are encouraged to submit an abstract for a presentation at the symposium. The abstract submission deadline is April 15, 2011. Please see the enclosed Call-for-Papers for further details including financial support for student presentations at the meeting. We plan to select one of our students to present at the AWRA Water Resources Conference in Albuquerque, New Mexico. The cost of presenting will be covered by the IWRA Student Scholarship Fund.

IWRA is soliciting nominations for the **Charles Harold Bechert Award** and the **Outstanding Achievement Awards** for 2011. We will present these awards to individuals who have contributed significantly to any of the goals of IWRA including:

- The promotion of research and technical, social, economic, and legislative advances in all aspects of water resources;
- The collection and dissemination of water-resources information through publications, symposia, and other media;
- Relating the needs of management, educational, and governmental institutions for specialized services and guidance to qualified professionals; or
- Initiating and maintaining lines of communication in the water-resources community.

Please take this opportunity to recognize outstanding water-resource achievements in the public, private, and academic communities. **Send your nominations for IWRA awards to Mark Basch**, **IWRA Awards Committee**, mbasch@dnr.IN.gov, (317) 232-0154. The nomination deadline is April 15, 2011.

IWRA comprises a diverse community of water-resource professionals. Please recommend IWRA to a colleague. We have a growing membership and welcome these new members to IWRA: Nathan Bosch, Sarah Brichford, Damon Carl, Indrajeet Chaubey, Carolyn Dowling, Ginger Korinek, Rachel Odenkirk, Hunter Pinnell, Cibin Raj, Caleb Rennaker, Darrell Schulze, and Sibel Selcuk. I encourage you to renew your IWRA membership by completing the enclosed membership form for 2011. Please continue to give generously to the IWRA Student Scholarship Fund and thank you for supporting IWRA.

If you have questions about the upcoming spring meeting please email me at mpyron@bsu.edu. I am looking forward to an informative and fun 2011 Spring Symposium.

Sincerely,

Mark Pyron IWRA President 2011