

Indiana Water Resources Association

http://iwra.info/

The Indiana State Section of the American Water Resources Association

February 10, 2014

Dear Members and Friends of IWRA,

Officers were elected at the business meeting in November. 2014 IWRA Officers are:

President: Martha Clark Mettler, Indiana Department of Environmental Management

President-Elect: Klaus Neumann, Ball State University

Secretary: Joseph Schmees, Indiana Department of Environmental Management

Treasurer: Kathleen Fowler, United States Geological Survey

As I sit here looking out my window in early February, there is snow. The snow is beautiful, but it wreaks havoc on our plans – for awhile anyway. Then we rally and get out our shovels and scrapers and heaters and bully our way through. That is our relationship with nature. We appreciate its beauty until it gets in our way. As members and friends of the Indiana Water Resources Association, we know the value of water as a resource, yet we understand why it is used and how it is abused. We focus our time on preventing degradation and are discouraged when the data seems to indicate our efforts are in vain. That is why, for the 35th Annual IWRA Spring Symposium, I hope to focus on examples where human efforts support and accelerate natural resource recovery, restoration and reclamation.

Home base for the 2014 symposium, scheduled for **June 11-13**, is the Canyon Inn at **McCormick's Creek State Park** in scenic Spencer, Indiana. Through briefings and field visits, we will have the opportunity to learn about the work that went into the restoration of the Goose Pond Fish and Wildlife area; how mined areas, including waterways, are reclaimed; and what happens at a fish hatchery. To support the success of the symposium, we want to learn from you. **Please contact me** if you have ideas for briefings or site visits related to this "**Natural Resource Recovery, Restoration, and Reclamation**" theme.

IWRA is soliciting nominations for the Charles Harold Bechert Award and the IWRA Outstanding Achievement Awards for presentation at the 2014 symposium. The Bechert Award celebrates lifetime achievement of excellence in water resources whereas the IWRA Outstanding Achievement Awards honor individuals who have contributed significantly to any of the goals of IWRA including:

- Promoting research and technical, social, economic, and legislative advances in all aspects of water resources;
- Collecting and disseminating of water-resources information through publications, symposia, and other media;
- Relating the needs of management, educational, and governmental institutions for specialized services and guidance to qualified professionals; or
- Initiating and maintaining lines of communication in the water-resources community.

Please send your nominations for IWRA awards to Mark Basch, IWRA Awards Committee, mbasch@dnr.IN.gov, (317) 232-0154. The nomination deadline is April 9, 2014.

Last year IWRA recognized these colleagues for their outstanding work: **Dr. Hendrik M. Haitjema**, Emeritus Professor, Indiana University School of Public and Environmental Affairs received the Charles Harold Bechert Award. **Dr. Sally Letsinger**, Indiana Geological Survey, received the Outstanding Achievement Award Public Sector; **Dr. Jack Wittman**, Layne Christensen, received the Outstanding Achievement Award Private Sector; and **Dr. Sara Pryor**, Indiana University, received the Outstanding Achievement Award Academic Sector. Congratulations to all our award winners.

Besides the compelling awards presentation emceed by quiz-master Mark Basch, **Phil Bonneau**, 2013 IWRA president, admirably led the coordination of yet another successful symposium held on June 19-21, 2013 at the Ball State University Alumni Center in Muncie with the theme of *"The State of the State's Waters."* There were great presentations on a wide array of topics and I was particularly impressed with the high level of student participation with both posters and presentations. From the student presenters, **Colton Yoder**, Purdue, was selected to present at the 2013 annual American Water Resources Association conference in Portland, Oregon. IWRA was able to support Colton's participation thanks to your generous contributions to the IWRA Scholarship fund. We encourage you to contribute to the scholarship fund when you renew your IWRA membership for 2014 on the attached form.

These members contributed to the IWRA Student Scholarship Fund in 2013: Les Arihood, Kristen Arnold, Don Arvin, Tony Bailey, Konrad Banaszak, Mark Basch, Siavash Beik, Thomas Berquist, Laura Bowling, Sarah Brichford, Thomas Bruns, Keith Cherkauer, Jacques Delleur, Kathleen Fowler, Val Frazee, Bill Giles, Bob Gillespie, Bill Guertal, Henk Haitjema, Rosemarie Hansell, Jeff Healy, Joe Ketterman, David Knipe, Sally Letsinger, Jim Luckiewicz, Jeff Martin, Scott Morlock, Greg Nethery, John Noel, Doug Opell, Gretchen Quirk, Mark Reshkin, Monique Riggs, Chris Ritz, Paul Ruegamer, Joe Schmees, Michael Sears, Barbara Simpson, Jon Stolz, Harold Templin, Ron Turco, Jerry Unterreiner, David Wagner, Robert Waltz, Kathryn Watson, Troy Weaver, John Wilson, Pam Wolsiefer-Leak, and Lorraine Wright.

I am honored to be a member of IWRA and particularly flattered that I was asked to be president. Will this year's symposium be as exciting as the Polar Vortex? Come join us and see!

Sincerely,

Martha Clark Mettler 2014 IWRA President mclark@idem.in.gov 317-232-8402