

Indiana Water Resources Association

http://iwra.info/

The Indiana State Section of the American Water Resources Association

February 23, 2015

Dear Members and Friends of IWRA,

Our 35th Annual Water-Resources Symposium held at the Canyon Inn, McCormick's Creek State Park, on June 11-13, 2014, had a wonderful program. The symposium theme was "*Restoration and Reclamation of Indiana's Water Resources*" and included several speakers and posters providing general information on the topic as well as background information for the day-long field trip to view several sites: the Goose Pond F&W Area, the active Bear Run coal mine, and the reclaimed Minehaha mine site. Congratulations to past president Martha Clark Mettler on an outstanding meeting.

The <u>Charles Harold Bechert Award</u> was presented to:

Leslie D. Arihood, Hydrologist (retired); U.S. Geological Survey, Indiana Water Science Center, for his lifelong work to advance the understanding of water resources in the State of Indiana.

Outstanding Achievement Awards presented at the symposium banquet included: <u>Academic Sector</u>: **Jane Frankenberger; Ph.D.**; Purdue University - for her work dealing with watershed management, assessment and protection, water monitoring, and her extensive public outreach efforts.

<u>Private Sector</u>. **Sara Peel**; Wabash River Enhancement Corp. - for her efforts with the Wabash Sampling Blitz and her commitment to increase citizen awareness of the Wabash River's water quality.

<u>Public Sector</u>. **William Guertal, Ph.D.**; U.S. Geological Survey - for his advancement of water resource science and his efforts to build partnerships with various groups and agencies to promote the stewardship of the Indiana's water resources .

IWRA is committed to supporting student presentations at our meetings. We thank the following individuals who contributed to the scholarship fund in 2012: Les Arihood, Jody Arthur, Don Arvin, Tony Bailey, Konrad Banaszak, Mark Basch, Siavash Beik, Thomas Berquist, Thomas Bruns, John Buechler, Suzanne Delay, Jacques Delleur, Rick Fielder, Kathleen Fowler, Jane Frankenberger, Val Frazee, Marty Frisbee, Billy Giles, Bob Gillespie, Bill Guertal, Henk Haitjema, Rosemarie Hansell, Mark Howell, David Knipe, Sally Letsinger, Jim Luckiewicz, Jeff Martin, Scott Morlock, Ron Muncie, Greg Nethery, Doug Opell, John Poehler, Mark Pyron, Gretchen Quirk, Marylou Renshaw, Monique Riggs, Paul Ruegamer, Joe Schmees, Michael Sears, Cheryl Silcox, Barbara Simpson, John South, Jon Stolz, Harold Templin, Larry Theller, Ron Turco, Jerry Unterreiner, David Wagner, Robert Waltz, Kathryn Watson, Lee Watson, Terry West, Kim Wilson, Pam Wolsiefer-Leak, Daniel Wright, and Lorraine Wright.

Officers were elected at a brief business meeting in December. 2015 IWRA Officers are:

President: Klaus Neumann, BSU Geological Sciences Department,

kneumann@bsu.edu

President-Elect: Joseph Schmees, IN Department of Environmental Management,

JSchmees@idem.in.gov

Secretary: Cyndi Wagner, IN Department of Environmental Management,

CWagner@idem.in.gov

Treasurer: Kathleen Fowler, United States Geological Survey, kkfowler@usgs.gov

On to new business, I'm pleased to announce that the 36th Annual IWRA Spring Symposium will be held June 22-24 at the Ball State University Alumni Center in Muncie. Please note that this meeting is scheduled from Monday through Wednesday! The theme of this year's symposium is "Urban, Sub-urban, and Non-urban Water Resources of Indiana." The primary focus will be on the quality and quantity of ground and surface water available for consumption in as well as affected and released by an increasingly urbanized Indiana. Possible related topics include research for new potable well fields for expanding municipalities, the new proposed Mounds Reservoir, changes in water monitoring, treatment, or management, and challenges such as the drought of 2012. You are encouraged to submit an abstract for a presentation at the symposium. The abstract submission deadline is April 22, 2015. Please see the enclosed Call-for-Papers for further details including financial support for student presentations at the meeting. We plan to select one of our students to present at the annual AWRA Water Resources Conference in Denver this November. The cost of presenting will be covered by the IWRA Student Scholarship Fund.

IWRA is soliciting nominations for the **Charles Harold Bechert Award** and the **Outstanding Achievement Awards** for 2015. We will present these awards to individuals who have contributed significantly to any of the goals of IWRA including:

- The promotion of research and technical, social, economic, and legislative advances in all aspects of water resources;
- The collection and dissemination of water-resources information through publications, symposia, and other media;
- Relating the needs of management, educational, and governmental institutions for specialized services and guidance to qualified professionals; or
- Initiating and maintaining lines of communication in the water-resources community.

Please take this opportunity to recognize outstanding water-resource achievements in the public, private, and academic communities. **Send your nominations for IWRA awards to Mark Basch, IWRA Awards Committee**, mbasch@dnr.IN.gov, (317) 232-0154. The nomination deadline is April 22, 2015.

IWRA comprises a diverse community of water-resource professionals. Please recommend IWRA to a colleague. We have a growing membership and welcome these new members to IWRA: Emily Frisbee, Marty Frisbee, Jane Hardisty, Jonah Johnson, Tammy Patterson, John Poehler, Augustus Schaefer, Dave Scott, and Ryan Wells. I encourage you to renew your IWRA membership by completing the enclosed membership form for 2015. Please continue to give generously to the IWRA Student Scholarship Fund and thank you for supporting IWRA.

If you have questions about the upcoming spring meeting please email me at kneumann@bsu.edu. I am looking forward to an informative 2015 Spring Symposium.

Sincerely,

Klaus Neumann

IWRA President 2015